How does this make sense?

Driving around this morning, I heard some folks talking about the election.  They were trying to explain/justify their choices and one comment in particular stood out.  A Trump supporter said she supported him because he was pro-life.

She went on to say that she wants less government intrusion into people’s lives and in society.  That comment, combined with the pro-life position confused me.

Set aside for the moment that Trump wasn’t pro-life until he began his run for the presidency last year.  Set aside for the moment that until he began his run for the presidency last year he never evinced one iota of interest in the pro-life side, the arguments pro and con.  Set aside his unfortunate comment that the woman should be punished for having an abortion.

My question is how is banning something – here, creating a law forbidding a woman from doing something – getting the government out of people’s lives?  The phrase used to be “get government off the backs of the people.”  Can anyone explain to me how MORE government regulation, this time outlawing abortion, is getting the government OFF the backs of people?  Can you seriously make that argument?

The answer is no, because it puts government squarely ON the backs of people.

If you oppose abortion, that’s one thing.  I can respect your position.  It’s not an easy choice for anyone to make, whether to carry a child to term or end the pregnancy.  There are serious considerations that must be dealt with prior to the decision.

But don’t use the argument that you want government out of your day-to-day affairs as well.  It simply does not wash.

That leads me to a related point.  Why do people want government regulation of these things anyway?  Abortion and, similarly, same-sex marriage, marijuana legalization, and many other issues, are things the political right wants abolished, forbidden, whatever the current nomenclature might be.  I have to ask: why?

If you don’t like abortion and don’t think it should be available, then don’t have an abortion.  If you don’t like the idea of men marrying men or women marrying women, then don’t marry someone of your same sex.  If you don’t like weed, then don’t buy and smoke it.

Why get government involved in these things?  If you truly want “government off the backs of the people,” then leave these decisions to those involved and keep government out of the matter.

That makes sense to me.

About flatpickingjd

Just your average, liberal vegetarian redneck. Yes, I'm a liberal. Proudly so. I see nothing wrong with that and wear that label with pride. Yes, I'm a vegetarian. I used to be fat, very fat. Then I started taking care of myself, lost a bunch of weight and found it easier to keep that weight off by not eating meat. Or cheese. Or eggs. Or any good stuff. Man, I miss pizza. And, yes, I'm a redneck. I like camping and fishing, listen to bluegrass music and live (from time to time) in the south(west). So, yup, I'm just your average, liberal vegetarian redneck. Serious details about me: I make my living as a lawyer. My practice focus is business law, but I've dabbled in other areas including personal injury, family law, real estate, and water law. I also hold three master's degrees with plans to earn a doctorate. I hope you enjoy your time here, and feel free to comment!
This entry was posted in Current Events, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

