Nice. Let’s blame the victims.

In the aftermath of the horrific murders in Orlando last weekend, we’ve had a lot of blowhards shooting off their mouths, spouting a lot of complete and utter nonsense.  But all the stupidity that has come out has paled in comparison to the idiotic crap spewing forth from some “pundits.”

Some have tried to make political hay with it.  I won’t bore anyone with my feelings about the tripe that #DimDonald has put forth; that idiocy speaks for itself.  I won’t say anything about how I think Hillary is right or even my general agreement with Obama’s stammering condemnation of the act.  Nor will I wax philosophic on how meaningless the moments of silence are (we’ve been silent too long on these mass murders).  I won’t say anything other than those comments, of course, but I hope think you’ll take my meaning.

What I’m talking about are the religious zealots poring forth their hate.

Rather than trying to bring some healing to the situation, rather than show Christian love for their fellow man – irrespective of whether they “agree” with homosexuality – some have chosen to use this for religious political ends.

The videos have since been pulled down from Youtube, but at least 2 “pastors” stated that the victims deserved to die because of their homosexuality.  One even added that with these victims we have 50 less pedophiles to worry about.

Pat Robertson was positively gleeful in his commentary on the 700 Club about how liberals were going to have to figure out a way to spin the murders, what with the fact that the murderer was a homophobic Muslims.  See, Robertson said, even Muslims hate gays.

I don’t even know where to begin.  Those few comments leave more than a slight distaste in the mouth.

So I won’t parse all those stupid and idiotic comments (words too soft to describe my sentiments about those kinds of comments).

All I’ll say is that if this is what people think their god has sanctioned for the “sin” of homosexuality then their deity is indeed a feckless thug.

But why make this about politics or even religion at all?  Why pour salt on this gaping open wound? Is this really a liberal vs. conservative thing?  Are conservatives not angered, horrified and/or disgusted by what happened?  Is it because “God’s perfect word” says homosexuality is wrong, therefore any ill that befalls them is somehow sanctioned by god, even if from the hand of a non-believer?

What a load of crap.

To be fair, many religious types have set aside their respective faiths’ opposition to homosexuality to stand by victims’ families, friends, and community.  It shows a common humanity, and hearkens to the universal horror that we’ve all experienced when hearing about the tragedy (where’s the outrage though?).

It’s time to stop blaming the victims for whatever befalls them.  It’s time to stop blaming a religion for the acts of a few outliers.  It’s time to stop using religion to justify our own hatred and fear of anyone who’s not exactly like us.

In short, it’s time to fight hate wherever and whenever it rears its ugly head.

About flatpickingjd

Just your average, liberal vegetarian redneck. Yes, I'm a liberal. Proudly so. I see nothing wrong with that and wear that label with pride. Yes, I'm a vegetarian. I used to be fat, very fat. Then I started taking care of myself, lost a bunch of weight and found it easier to keep that weight off by not eating meat. Or cheese. Or eggs. Or any good stuff. Man, I miss pizza. And, yes, I'm a redneck. I like camping and fishing, listen to bluegrass music and live (from time to time) in the south(west). So, yup, I'm just your average, liberal vegetarian redneck. Serious details about me: I make my living as a lawyer. My practice focus is business law, but I've dabbled in other areas including personal injury, family law, real estate, and water law. I also hold three master's degrees with plans to earn a doctorate. I hope you enjoy your time here, and feel free to comment!
This entry was posted in Current Events, Rant, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

