Annie

It’s hard to believe that today, July 29, marks one year since I had to put Annie down.  And it’s every bit as hard to think about her without getting weepy or upset.  She turned into such a sweet little thing.

I won’t go into details of her last days; it’s just too sad.  Recounting those details don’t do much to memorialize her either.  It’s better to remember her while she lived rather than her last, difficult, pain-filled hours.

I miss my girl.  I miss my Annie.  I come home now and have to remind myself not to call to her.  I look over where her bed used to be and sigh.  When I put Cecil down years ago (12 years ago this August 10), I just felt empty inside.  But for some reason I’m sadder with Annie’s death than I was with Cecil.  I miss her every day.

It’s still hard to not think of her without getting teary and sad.  But it’s slowly getting better.  I remember her with more rose colored glasses and her little quirks that irritated me when she was alive now are endearing memories.  Funny how that works.

I miss you my sweet, dear little girl.  I always will.

About flatpickingjd

Just your average, liberal vegetarian redneck. Yes, I'm a liberal. Proudly so. I see nothing wrong with that and wear that label with pride. Yes, I'm a vegetarian. I used to be fat, very fat. Then I started taking care of myself, lost a bunch of weight and found it easier to keep that weight off by not eating meat. Or cheese. Or eggs. Or any good stuff. Man, I miss pizza. And, yes, I'm a redneck. I like camping and fishing, listen to bluegrass music and live (from time to time) in the south(west). So, yup, I'm just your average, liberal vegetarian redneck. Serious details about me: I make my living as a lawyer. My practice focus is business law, but I've dabbled in other areas including personal injury, family law, real estate, and water law. I also hold three master's degrees with plans to earn a doctorate. I hope you enjoy your time here, and feel free to comment!
This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

